Proven and Promising Schools

Great MN Schools has identified a group of Proven and Promising schools that are prioritized for access to funding, expert guidance and technical assistance.  These schools have shown one of the following 2 of the last 3 years:

1. outperformed the district average on MCA proficiency (elem. and middle schools)

2. achieved greater than expected growth (elem. and middle schools)

3. shown achievement on the ACT (high school)

4. beat the district average for students attending and graduating college (high school)

5. or have gone through an evaluation process with Great MN Schools to validate that they are on the right track toward closing the opportunity gap.  

The list is also limited to schools that serve a population that is greater than 40% FRL.

If you do not see your school on this list, but would like to access GMS resources, and believe you can show evidence of your progress through measures other than the MCA, please email and we can discuss with you a process for inclusion.


2018-2019 Proven and Promising Schools

To see specifics regarding how schools are identified for Proven and Promising list, as well as how this list evolves overtime, click here.

Anthony Middle School LoveWorks Academy
Ascension Catholic School Lyndale Community School
Aurora Middle School Marcy Open School
Bancroft Elementary Minnesota International Middle School
Barton Open School New City School
Cristo Rey Jesuit High School Northeast College Prep
Dowling School Patrick Henry High School
Fair Senior High Pillsbury Community School
Friendship Academy of the Arts Pratt Community School
Green Central Park Community School Prodeo Academy
Hennepin  Schools Risen Christ Catholic School
Hiawatha College Prep – Kingfield Sanford Middle School
Hiawatha Collegiate High School Seward Montesorri School
Hiawatha Community – Howe Campus South High School
Hiawatha Leadership Academy – Morris Park Southside Family Charter School
Hiawatha Leadership Academy – Northrop St. Helena Catholic School
Hope Academy St. John Paul II Catholic School
Justice Page Middle School Twin Cities International Elementary School
KIPP North Star Academy Ubah Medical Academy
KIPP North Star Primary Universal Academy Charter School
Lake Nokomis Community – Keewaydin Campus Waite Park Community School
Lake Nokomis Community – Wenonah Campus Windom Dual Immersion School